American Red Cross Leadership

Honorary Chairman*

William J. Clinton The President of the United States

Chairman

Norman R. Augustine Vice Chairmen 1997-98

Dimon R. McFerson Carlton K. Brownell Emilio R. Nicolas, Jr.

Vice Chairmen 1998-99

Dimon R. McFerson William M. Darr Michael A. Leven

Emeritus Officials

Frank Stanton Chairman Emeritus

Roland H. Lange Vice Chairman Emeritus

George M. Elsev President Emeritus

Board of Governors Members Appointed by the President of the United States

Norman R. Augustine Chairman of the American Red Cross

Chairman of the Executive Committee Lockheed Martin Corporation Bethesda, Maryland

Madeleine K. Albright Secretary of State

William S. Cohen Secretary of Defense

Donna E. Shalala Secretary of Health and Human Services

James Lee Witt

Director, Federal Emergency Management Agency

Richard W. Rilev Secretary of Education

Aida Alvarez

Administrator, U.S. Small Business Administration Washington, D.C.

Gen. Henry H. Shelton Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff

Board of Governors Members Elected by the Chartered Units

Hugh J. Baker III President Hugh J. Baker and Associates Indianapolis, Indiana

Carlton Kearns Brownell¹ Partner McGowan and Brownell

Geneva, New York

Steven J. Bredehoeft, MD, MPH^2

Medical Director Transfusion Services Duke University Medical Center Durham, North Carolina

Deborah D. Carman, RN, MNSc

Director of Development/Alumni Relations and Clinical Nursing Faculty University of Arkansas Medical Sciences College of Nursing Little Rock, Arkansas

Pete E. Chavez Former District Coordinator, Finance

Albuquerque Public Schools Albuquerque, New Mexico

Dolores E. Churchill

Clinical Social Worker, Instructor and Former Public Agency Administrator Santa Ana, California

June W. Dahl Former Public School Teacher St. Paul. Minnesota

William M. Darr

Former Assistant Secretary/Assistant General Counsel Rochester & Pittsburgh Coal Company Indiana, Pennsylvania

Mary H. DeKuyper

Consultant to Nonprofit Organizations and Community Leader Baltimore, Maryland

Frank S. Dickerson III

Former President and Chief Operating Officer Digital Impact, Inc. Truro, Massachusetts

F. Joe Falk, Jr. Partner

Finney, Falk and Lawrence-Berrev

Yakima, Washington

Kathryn A. Forbes² Chief Financial Officer The Clarity Group Phoenix. Arizona

Russell R. Gifford Former President CNG Energy Services

Robert N. Grant Partner

Cleveland. Obio

Grant & Gordon Palo Alto, California

Frederick H. Grein, Jr. Partner

Hutchins, Wheeler & Dittmar Boston, Massachusetts

Gray W. Harrison, Jr. MG AUS (Ret.) Community Leader Jackson, Mississippi

Edward A. (Buzz) Heidt, Jr.³

President The Penrod Company Virginia Beach, Virginia

Gwen T. Jackson¹ Community Leader Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Erik E. Joh Erik E. Joh, P.A. Boynton Beach, Florida

Patricia A. Kennedy Community Leader San Francisco, California

Deborah Karr King¹ Community Leader Phoenix. Arizona

Helen Shores Lee Partner Shores & Lee Birmingham, Alabama

Michael J. Mawdsley² Corporate Safety Officer Interstate Roofing, Inc. Portland, Oregon

Catherine B. Miller Former Vice President Wheeler & Taylor, Inc. Sheffield, Massachusetts

E.R. Mitchell, Ir.² President and Chief Executive Officer E.R. Mitchell and Company Atlanta, Georgia

George A. Nicholson III Consultant and Administrator Abbott, Nicholson, Quilter, Esshaki. & Youngblood, P.C. Detroit, Michigan

Miguel A. Nieves¹ Fisher Scientific Suwanee, Georgia

Donald C. Otto, Jr.¹ Partner Hendren and Andrae Jefferson City, Missouri

Eddy M. Ouijano Managing Partner Adams and Reese, L.L.P. Baton Rouge, Louisiana

^{*}The President of the United States serves as the Honorary Chairman of the American Red Cross and appoints eight members of the Board of Governors, one of whom he designates as the Chairman of the American Red Cross.

¹Term expired in May 1998.

²Elected May 1998.

³Elected September 1998 to fill vacancy in term expiring May 1999.

⁴Resigned September 1998.

Jay Rodriguez

President Hafif Family Foundation Claremont, California

Philip J. Sadler⁴

Retired Facility Manager Western Publishing Company Coffeeville, Kansas

Nancylee A. Siebenmann² Chair

Environmental Advisory Committee Linn County Board of Health

Cedar Rapids, Iowa Gerald A. Sumida

Partner Carlsmith Ball Honolulu, Hawaii

Lynn R. Swon Vice President Dain Rauscher Inc. Minneapolis, Minnesota

Ioe A. Taller

Former Director of Community Initiatives Boeing Company Olympia, Washington

Thomas G. Yamada Managing Director Mountfield Advertising

Highland, Indiana

Board of Governors Members Elected by the Board as Members-at-Large

D. Inez Andreas¹ Community Leader Decatur, Illinois

L. M. (Bud) Baker, Jr.
President and Chief Executive
Officer
Wachovia Corporation
Winston-Salem, North
Carolina

William P. Barr²

Executive Vice President Government & Regulatory Advocacy and General Counsel GTE Service Corporation Washington, D.C.

Kenneth D. Brody Former President and Chairman U.S. Export-Import Bank Washington, D.C.

John L. Clendenin¹ Chairman of the Board BellSouth Corporation Atlanta, Georgia

Jon M. Huntsman Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Huntsman Corporation Salt Lake City, Utah

James R. Jones

Former President
Warnaco International and
Former U.S. Ambassador to
Mexico
New York, New York

Michael A. Leven
President and Chief Executive

Officer U.S. Franchise Systems, Inc. Atlanta, Georgia

Jonathan S. Linen

Vice Chairman American Express Company New York, New York Dimon R. McFerson

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Nationwide Insurance Enterprise Columbus, Ohio

David T. McLaughlin²

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Orion Safety Products New London, New Hampshire

Emilio R. Nicolas, Jr.¹
President
Heart of Texas Pizza, Ltd.

Heart of Texas Pizza, Lta San Antonio, Texas

James J. Norton

President
Graphic Communications
International Union
Washington, D.C.

Carl F. Pascarella²
President and Chief Executive
Officer
Visa I. S. A. Inc.

Visa U.S.A. Inc. San Francisco, California

Richard M. Scrushy² Chairman and Chief Executive Officer HealthSouth Corporation Birmingham, Alabama

Corporate Officers

Norman R. Augustine Chairman

Elizabeth Dole President

Richard L. Dashefsky General Counsel

Märianne P. Eby Corporate Secretary

Administrative Officers

E. Matthew Branam Chief Operating Officer

Bernie and Linda Ceilley National Co-Chairs of Volunteers

Donald W. Jones Senior Vice President Chapter Services

Anthony J. Polk Chief Diversity Officer

Jimmy D. Ross Senior Vice President Biomedical Services

Tom Woteki Chief Information Officer

Financial Officer

John D. Campbell Chief Financial Officer and Vice President, Finance

Audit Services

Timothy R. Holmes *General Auditor*